Higher education institutions

Higher education institutions are universities, polytechnics and schools of professional higher education with all its constituents.

University is an institution that organises and implements university studies in at leas two scientific an/or art areas in a greater number of fields and interdisciplinary studies. University constituents are: faculties, art academies, departments, institutes, foundations, associations, student centres, health care institutions, libraries, and technological centres.

  • Faculty is a higher education institution that as a university constituent organises and carries out university studies, and develops scientific research and professional work in one or more scientific and professional fields. The faculty may also establish and carry out professional studies.
  • Academy of arts is a higher education institution that as a university constituent organises and carries out university artistic studies, and develops first-rate artistic creative endeavour and scientific research in arts. The academy of arts may also establish and carry out professional artistic studies.
  • University department is a university constituent that participates in the implementation of study programmes and develops scientific, artistic and professional work in a single field of science or in an interdisciplinary area of science, and participates in the implementation of university studies.
  • The university institute is a university constituent founded for performing scientific activity in a single or several related scientific fields, normally related to higher education process at the university. A university institute may perform highly professional work and participate in teaching according to enactments passed by the university.

Polytechnic and school of professional higher education are institutions that organise and implement professional studies. A polytechnic implements at least three different studies in at least three fields.

There are currently around 130 higher education institutions in the Republic of Croatia which can be found in the Overview of Institutions in the Higher Education System:

7 universities: University of Dubrovnik, University of Josip Juraj Strossmayer in Osijek, University of Rijeka, University of Split, University of Zadar, University of Zagreb and University of Juraj Dobrila in Pula

13 public polytechnics: Social Studies Polytechnic in Zagreb, Technical Polytechnic in Zagreb, Polytechnic in Karlovac, Polytechnic Lavoslav Ružička in Vukovar,  Polytechnic "Nikola Tesla" in Gospić, Polytechnic Marko Marulić in Knin, Polytechnic in Požega, Polytechnic in Rijeka, Polytechnic in Varaždin, Polytechnic in Slavonski Brod, Polytechnic in Šibenik, Health Studies Polytechnic in Zagreb, Polytechnic of Međimurje in Čakovec

3 public schools of professional higher education: Police Academy in Zagreb, College of Agriculture in Križevci, College of Management in Tourism and IT in Virovitica

3 private polytechnics: Polytechnic in Velika Gorica, VERN Business College, Polytechnic for media, business and management

25 private schools of professional higher education: American College of Management and Technology, International Graduate School for Management in Zagreb, RRiF School of Financial Management, Theology faculty "Matija Vlačić Ilirik", Evangelical Theological Seminary in Osijek, Business School "Libertas", Business School in Višnjan, Business School "Utilus" in Zagreb, School of Professional Higher Education "Agora" in Zagreb, Business School "Minerva" in Dugopolje, Business School in Zagreb, School of Information Technologies in Zagreb, Business and Management School "Baltazar Adam Krčelić" in Zaprešić, School for Workplace Safety in Zagreb, Polytechnic School in Pula, Zagreb School of Economics and Management, Zagreb School of Management, Polytechnic School in Bjelovar, School of Information Technologies, Business School "Minerva", School of Journalism, School of Professional Higher Education "Hrvatsko zagorje" in Krapina, Polytechnic School in Zagreb, TV-AKADEMIJA School of Multimedia Communication Technologies, School of Applied Informatics, School of Economy, Entrepreneurship and Management "Zrinski", School of Public Relation and Media Study "Kairos".